Thursday, August 6, 2009

eBay picture sharing

I know it's been a while since I've posted on this blog. The lighting in my makeshift studio went down and I haven't been able to fix it yet. But I'll get some new pictures and posts up soon.

In the meantime, I want to let everyone who sells on eBay know about a new policy regarding people's photos. eBay has change their terms of use so that unless you opt out, you are automatically agreeing to let them use your photos without notifying you or asking for your permission.

It's really best if you opt out before August 31st, which is when the new policy will take effect. After August 31st they can still use your old photos, just not any you upload after opting out. Problem is, eBay isn't being very proactive about letting people know — not that we're surprised. Why would they do that?

To opt out of sharing your eBay photos without your permission, hover your mouse over the Accounts tab on your My eBay page and click on the Site Preferences option from the drop down menu that appears. To the right of the selection "Share your Photos," click Show. Most likely your account has defaulted to "Yes." To change that, click Edit (under the link for Show) and then put a little tick mark in the box to opt out.

Doing this will protect the item photos you post on eBay from being used without your knowledge or permission!

Labels: